Lavender Coconut Salt Scrub

“The cure for anything is salt water; sweat, tears or the sea.” I had this in mind when I made this scrub. A lot of homemade scrubs favor using sugar as the exfoliator, but I prefer salt waaaaay more. I love how my skin looks after a few days at the beach, swimming in the salt water and laying in the sand. Salt draws out infections, impurities, and truly does help to heal. I love using it on rough skin, also on areas on my legs where troublesome ingrown hairs tend to accumulate. This scrub smooths, and heals all of that. I love including something like this as part of a whole health regimen because it’s important to realize that total heath doesn’t just come from the food on your plate, it is also self care, for your body and mind.

I also enjoy making my own beauty products know exactly what’s in it. Yes, you can buy scrubs at the store and save yourself the time, but it is so worth it to throw this together instead. There are no dyes, artificial fragrances, chemicals, or preservatives. In fact, you could eat this, (I mean, you could, but, really, just don’t).  I feel good using this on my skin,  knowing there is nothing harmful in it. This is also a perk when my teething baby likes to chew on my arm, chew away kid.

The coconut oil used in the scrub is super moisturizing, lends a pleasant smell, and has antibacterial and anti-fungal properties to it. Real lavender provides not only a lovely smell, but also has a calming effect on the brain, eliminating nervous tension, enhancing blood circulation, and disinfecting the skin. In latin, lavender means “to wash” (hello cleanliness!)

6

Rub this scrub on your body a few times a week to exfoliate, moisturize, and bring about calm to your mind at the end of the day.

12

Lavender Coconut Salt Scrub

  • 1 cup fine sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon dried lavender flowers, ground in a coffee grinder, or with a mortar and pestal (this brings out the scent of the lavender-also the smaller bits won’t clog your drain like the full blossoms will)
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted

Directions

Pour the sea salt in a glass jar. Add the ground lavender flowers, and stir into the salt. Lastly, add the melted coconut oil, and combine. Store in an airtight jar….for awhile, it should last weeks at room temperature. Use 3-5 times a week. Love on your soft, smooth skin.

Enjoy.

xEm.

One thought on “Lavender Coconut Salt Scrub

Leave a Reply

